Catherine Lacey: BoyStory

By catherinelacey

All you need is

Reuben has fallen into a late afternoon slumber, most unlike him. Callum and I have been demolishing the last of the Valentine cupcakes from Saturday's party. He brings one of the cakes oh so carefully upon a china saucer to Reuben's bedside and plants a loving kiss upon his lips. Reuben's hair is warm and sticky, both salty and sweet as I dig my head into his curls and breathe it in.

Callum is seated on my lap right now, Iggle Piggle occupying one side of the iMac and Aperture, the other. Early he ran up to the big boy's loo upstairs by himself, pulled down his pants and attempted to do his thing. We're getting there, I'm sure, with a big leap this week.

Spoke to Adrian today whilst the boys were at school (I was picking up tips for meals I'll never cook at Whole Foods). He's my former London boss, fellow movie buff and photographer now living in Oregon. It's been years since we've sat down and enjoyed a bottle of wine today as we all did back in those investment banking days. My phone died on me and he hasn't yet had an explanation for my disappearance.

Backblip "Cherish". This is part of my girly love series this week.
Backblip "Tinkerbell"

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.