Swimming Against The Tide

By ViolaMaths

Flat Tyre

Today turned out rather differently from how I thought it would.

The plan was a very quick trip into town to get stuff to make "baby porridge" for the little ratties to help them to grow up big and strong into large ratties!

All went to plan at first - a quick trip to a pound shop to get one or two things, a trip to the pet shop, which couldn't sell me everything I needed, but I managed to get a few things I needed, and then I headed to Tesco's to pick up a few bits and pieces.

And then the plan for a quick trip started to unravel. Since I knew the Wonderspouse would not be back home this evening (he was going to do a reading in Cambridge and would be back too late to get home), I knew I had to fend for myself foodwise.

Then I smelt food. Tesco's cafe. So I had lunch (pie and chips) accompanied by reading about Whitney Houston's death in a copy of The Sun that someone had left lying around. I made a mental note not to go in the bath when I was extremely drunk!!!

Then I set off home. About half way back the car suddenly sounded really wrong. I pulled over to find out why, and discovered that I had a totally wrecked tyre (not the tyre that's been a bit iffy for a while, but ANOTHER one).

It was cold, and my hands are already cracked and chapped, and I DO pay every year to be in the AA, so I wimped out on the tyre changing and decided to do the pathetic thing and get a very very nice man to come and do it for me. I settled down to wait, calling first the Wonderspouse, and then Scharwenka, then just quietly dozing in the car.

I did feel a bit daft, since I know perfectly well how to change a tyre, and I'm afraid Lisa Kelly (of Ice Road Truckers) would have been shocked at how nesh I was, but Gregg (in the picture) was startlingly efficient, and had a very cool jack too!

Then, eventually, after calling at the vets to register another 5 rats (two of whom are moving in on Wednesday), I got home.

Too tired to do anything else, I went to sleep.

Then woke up and did all that was needed for the evening, then went, unwashed, to bed on my own.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.