The Love Child Chronicles

By lovechild

American Pie

Some years ago, I read a book by Richard Simmons, one of the original fitness gurus. You may remember him for his outrageous red Afro, wild outfits, and crazy workout routines. One of my friends had his cookbook, which contained a fabulous recipe for Poppy Seed Dressing. I had to have the book, although I did receive strange looks from the cashier when I bought it at the Davis-Kidd Bookseller in Nashville, Tennessee.

Richard Simmons suggested that in order to eat healthy, one must have a clean refrigerator. At the time, mine looked more like a science experiment, with several strange substances lurking in fuzzy containers, and some not so fresh vegetables hanging out in the hydrators.

After tidying mine up a bit today, I decided that I would snap a photo of the contents for my "Blipfoto" friends.

A little slice of American life here in the U.S.A., and a clear representation of The Lovechild: A self-admitted packaging whore and lover of good food.

I may not have needed to lose weight, but Richard taught me how not to have my mother's refrigerator.

Don't you just love all of the pretty colors?



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.