The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Oil City

I travel to many wonderful cities. This is not one of them. I have travelled here often and i really tried to like it. Additionally, I have many friends who live here and love it but, I am not a fan.

I awoke to overcast skies in Houston this morning and the dawn light gave a dreary downtown area an even more Alfred Hitchcock aura. But for the wonderful dinner I had with friends last night and an exciting deal which I am working on, I would have been thoroughly depressed because I really find little to like about downtown Houston. Beyond a few big office buildings and hotels, a smattering of so-so restaurants and a few sporting venues, there really is little to keep one's attention. I walked around last night in search of a music scene, an art gallery or something of social or artistic value. Again, I found nothing special for a city of this size.

Downtown Houston is largely a collection of gleaming office towers housing oil barrons and the legal and banking community which serves them. Add in a few hotels for guests like me and you have a "city"??????

The suburbs are supposed to contain a bit of life in the evening. I passed on that opportunity and decided to save my fun dollars for more worthy adventures.

I took this with a Fuji X10 in monochrome mode. I played with the EV a bit to capture my dark state of mind. I think it is funny that the picture contained a smattering of small, fuel efficient cars and public transportation in a city which was built by big oil.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.