The Lighted Life

By Giacomo

Priorities

Over $130 billion was spent on weddings in the United States last year; an amount that roughly equals the entire GDP of Ireland. That is over $28,000 per wedding or 62% of the yearly median income in the US. This amount also is $12,000 more per wedding than it was 15 years ago.

The average cost of maintaining food and supplies for one year at a drop-in center for one homeless person is $2,920.

Before going to work today, I spent time volunteering at the Dorothy Day Center in Saint Paul. I have made a commitment to this center and I find my time there quite rewarding. The Dorothy Day Center provides hot meals served by volunteers, mental health services and medical care and much more to people experiencing homelessness.

Then, shortly after stepping out of my parking garage near our office on my One Street, I saw this homeless person in front of these beautiful bridal gowns and it sent my thoughts into a deeper realm.

I do enjoy a beautiful wedding but I also feel that we need to do more for those that need our help.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.