Skyroad

By Skyroad

Billy & Mary

There's been a whole heap of rainy weather tumbling over us these last couple of days. Makes for interesting sky-laundry, bright whites and slate-greys, with rainbows springing up everywhere, banding things together.

I did some writing in the afternoon then headed out along Sandymount Strand and the East wall to bring some prints to Arthur and Margaret's family and see what they were up to. About a mile before I reached their caravan, alongside a huge yard stacked with ship-containers, I spotted this man drinking tea by the side of the road, outside his caravan. Hence the portrait above. His name is Billy and his wife Mary is leaning out the door of the caravan. He was a natural, content to be himself while manouvered and buzzed about him like a pesky fly.

Afterwards I dropped the prints in to Arthur and Margaret, who were happy to let me inside to take some more photos. The rain started again just as I was leaving, when I noticed the suite of furniture they'd left on the beach "for the kids". There were a couple of kite-surfers on the sea just in the background. I think that last shot I took is actually one of the strongest. Anyway, it's among the following:

MAKING A CALL

KITE-SURFER

REAR WINDOW

RAINBOW

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.