Fi

By Fi

Blipmeet!

The weather delayed his flight into Heathrow, and the snow-fiasco brought rail/tube/airport networks to an unnecessary reduced service / standstill, but as it turned out and as luck would have it, my kerb-side drop off (thanks Stu and J!), despite being 6hrs before my flight, was perfect timing for his delayed arrival.

After near-misses before, on similar entries and exits to the UK, the much-anticipated blip-meet with 'he who no longer blips' finally happened. Following a couple of years worth of blip-banter and PS3 playing and other online chit-chat since, Mr too-cool-for-blip-school pitched up, for a work trip, in his much-blipped and much-admired beanie hat!

I managed to persuade him that the airport pub in the pre-security bit of T3, was just fine for a couple of hours (and it jolly well saved me trudging in and back out of London with 9.5kg of haggis in my hand-luggage!) of beer, lunch, chat and rugby! We were in a prime viewing spot for the Ireland v Wales match, which drew quite a crowd for what turned out to be an exciting match. I took an executive decision to stay for the entire game, but as soon as the final whistle blew, I had to leg it to Terminal 1 for my 6pm flight, which was to put it mildly, cutting it fine, while the former Blip-flirt tubed it into London. It really was a fun afternoon, and it topped off a fabulous weekend, nicely. Good to meet you......D77! :-)


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.