Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

The Archer

I played pétanque (poorly) in cold drizzling rain this morning, but still managed to have a good time with my friends. It wasn't a great day for outdoor photography, although I did go down to Lake Padden late in the afternoon and give it a try. Everything looked grey, so I drove to Fairhaven to fuel the Jetta, and then dropped into the Archer Alehouse to check out their beer selection. I hadn't been there for quite a while, but the place had received a good review in the latest Cascadia Weekly.

I was impressed with the beer selection, and sampled a couple -- the Stone Pale Ale and Unibroue Raftman -- both excellent. Since it was happy hour, there were four appetizers offered at half price. I chose the Irish Nachos -- potato slices topped with cheddar cheese, bacon bits, and a dollop of sour cream. It was a large portion served very hot, and enough for dinner -- just as well, since Cynthia had succumbed to some unknown bug, and wasn't cooking today.

I ran into one of the other members of People for Lake Padden, and enjoyed getting to know him better. A love of good beer is just one of the things we have in common -- he is awaiting the re-opening of the Green Frog just as anxiously as I am.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.