Looks Good To Me

By Pilipo

Swiss-Made

These are the drawing instruments I bought in 1958 when I was studying mechanical engineering at Birmingham University in England. I still use them, but not very often, and I always have trouble remembering where I put them after the previous use. This time was exceptionally difficult -- I had to call in an expert finder.

Cynthia found them in a drawer of our writing desk, where I'd looked three times. The case was standing on edge between two shoe boxes. I was looking for a flat rectangular case, so it just didn't register in my brain -- what's left of it.

Once again I felt humble -- and grateful. Now, what was I going to do with those instruments?

P.S. Wild Heerbrug produced drawing instruments between 1948 and 1972. The company still exists, but in a different form. It's a long story -- Leitz, Leica, and Cambridge Instruments are involved. You can read the details here if you're interested.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.