His N Hers

No I have no idea why but these stiles made me think of his and her type styling ( because of course people that designed public pathways priorotise gender segregation woodwork just for when people are up to their ears in mud and rain and just want to get over the wall in the least bum expanding, all fall down, Frank Spencer sit com way possible).

The picture is about as grey as it was, infact it was greyer but short of standing here with a grey crayola and scribbling on the screen, it's hard to sum up how murky things were.

Still a very uplifting walk up Phen y ghent though. I have done it many many times and it's a nice 4 hour walk with moderate inclines, great views and just about enough height for a complete heightophobe like me. Blue skies and great views when we started and half way up the fog descended, the mist thickened, it started raining ( glad I had bothered to straighten my hair.. v important for hill walking ), the wind came in with avengeance and there was tons of rogue snow that was icy and skiddy. We weren't sure whether to continue so had a word with some passing walkers who were just coming down... turns out it was a woman I did my nurse training with in 1992 and have not seen her since. Middle of some skiddy ice, freezing and windswept.. ideal venue for a reunion, pass the vol au vents and Blue Nun please! Anyway she advised us it was treacherous at the tops so we did the sensible thing, we told her we would butch it out and continue , but in reality we waited until she had gone and ten minutes later followed her downwards.

Pride intact and all limbs intact and had a great sense of glowiness and satisfaction that you get from toughing out the ever changeable weather in the Yorkshire Dales.

A good day out with my mate Alan, we put the world to rights , asked each other many questions like
1: Why is love so complicated?
2: Would it be a good idea to start a FaceBook group called Unenthusiastic Runners ( Unenthusiastic Gym goers may also apply)?
3: How many Cadbury's Mini Rolls is too many in anyone sitting?


I am still pondering them this evening as I have chilled watching Vicky Cristina Barcelona with a pile of chocolate that accidentally dropped into my mouth.


That's it. I am over my word allowance for speaking bollocks and I haven't even soliloquised about my run this morning or the fact that it's the weekend!!

Time to switch off the witter button and relax

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.