Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Did you count me???

And, if you want a closer look at my Cone-head, view me in LARGE

Day One of the Great Backyard Bird Count ... And you-know-who was demanding to be counted. Demanding peanuts... demanding a blip ... demanding water ... good thing the blue jays are so pretty! My maximum jay sighting at the Bistro was 7 - they were taking turns grabbing peanuts ... until Mrs. Red-bellied woodpecker showed up and acted menacing. Funny that, although the RBWs are smaller than the jays, they are definitely a notch up in the "pecking order." RBW rules.

I worked this morning, so other than an hour at sunrise, I forbid myself to peek outside until all work was complete. Then, the fun began! I spent about an hour and a half over at the Kittatinny doing a traveling (walking) bird count which included approximately 50 Canada Geese, 3 mute swans, half a dozen mallards, 6 cardinals, an unknown raptor and an Eastern Bluebird! It was beautiful out so I enjoyed trekking around in the woods and along the lake. I noticed that the wild barberries are already sprouting leaves - this crazy mild winter we've had has upset the balance of nature.

Things at the Bistro were slow and steady this afternoon. Because of the mild weather, not as many birds as on a cold or snowy day, but still a nice crowd. Some of the players...

Downy woodpecker (female) hiding in plain sight
Male house finch showing his colors and striking a pose
Those crazy nuthatches\
"I'm giving you my back" Chickadee
And, of course, lots of blue jays...

Also goldfinches, cardinals, vultures, crows, mourning doves, juncos, and white-throated sparrows. In fact, His Royal Redness is perched on the tree outside my office window as I type this - he says Hi. And, he says thanks for all the nice comments, hearts and stars yesterday. And he wants a contract...

Okay, split pea soup for dinner tonight. If only I'd gotten motivated and made bread ... Well, whatever. I'm a Citizen Scientist, you know! And, hey, it's not to late for you blippers in the US and Canada to participate in the Great Backyard Bird Watch. You can submit a report based on as little as 15 minutes of observation. It's easy, free, and helps ornithologists to understand bird behavior better.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.