On display

The threatened heavy rain held off until well into the night, so I summoned up my courage and went in to town for a bit. There was a bit of a buzz around, and I couldn't help feeling that the many tourists around Temple Bar were putting a brave face on it all and were doing their best to enjoy themselves despite the bad weather.

I've always been fascinated photographically by Merchants Arch itself at the short stretch where it's actually under cover having crossed the Ha'penny Bridge, but I'm still waiting for a successful result. Today it was the range of knick-knack and souvenir shops between there and Fownes Street which caught my eye, especially this place with its colourful hanging display which wouldn't look out of place in a Continental holiday spot.

Not much doing at home afterwards. Watched a bit of the Olympics on TV, listened to some music, got some email correspondence out of the way, sent out some invoices. It's just after midnight now and there's more heavy rain hitting against the windows. Time for a hot drink, I think, a warm bed and a few pages of a sleep-inducing book. 'Night all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.