Adam's Images

By ajt

Macro

Anyone who has followed my recent blips will notice a slight macro trend. It's been cold, wet and dark of late and I've been stuck indoors most of the time so no opportunity for any landscape photography - which is my favourite.

Today we were out in the village drumming up more support for next week's Community Orchard planting. It was a bit cold, dark and threatening so I didn't take a camera with me.

I was considering going out side to snap a wet daffodil, the light isn't so bad now the rain has stopped when I thought I'd have a look in my "The Pocket Oxford Dictionary" at the definition of macro. I'd tried the Concise OED and even La Rousse we have in the living room but in neither places did it fall in a convenient place to photograph. To my surprise my 1978 Pocket dictionary from my school days has it a perfect place to blip.

As much as I love to read a dictionary I found them utterly useless for spelling. As a someone with dyslexia I've always had a serious problem with spelling. For years my school (primary and secondary) complained that if I couldn't spell a word I should look it up in the dictionary. This is obviously stupid, most dyslexics have no idea that they have spelt something wrong in the first place and secondly if we don't know how to spell a word, a dictionary is of little use, it's only useful if you mostly know how it's spelt in the first place...!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.