Hill Shapes

The landscape above Deuchrie Farm, East Lothian.

Big Deuchrie.

I chose this one because of the even lighting, but there's a nearly-blip On Flickr with the sun shining strongly. The problem there (if it is a problem) is that the shadows are pretty deep. I edited the RAW file to lift the shadows, but I think I still prefer the blip above.

Nobody lives in that cottage any more, but they did quite recently - as the shredded telephone cables testify.

After a beautiful morning followed by a brief lunchtime snow, I rode out on the little single-speed winter bike with its new lighter gearing to see if I could do one of my most favourite but strenuous routes. I really didn't know if I could - that gearing is still pretty stiff and I'm not as fit as I've been. It's about 20 miles all round.

From the beach at Tyninghame to the hills above Deuchrie, I had a wonderful time enjoying the ride. Thanks to my carefully selected route, I avoided the howling westerly wind by zig-zagging across the County and the little bike was just perfect.

The last climb from Deuchrie was a blast with the wind behind me and the sun breaking through the clouds to wash the hills with light.

I cut out the last couple of off-road miles I had planned from Halls to Spott because things were getting seriously cold. Heading down from Halls to Spott on the road instead was great fun with the wind behind me, and I arrived at the supermarket muddy and glowing.

On the way home I took the Eweford road and noticed a friend out pressure-washing his motorbike. So, I wheeled around and got a free bike wash! And a can of beer, and a laddish chat. Very nice, thanks Richard :)

A great day!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.