Waterfoot Sunrise

By alasdairb

Snowy Sunrise

Well what did you expect for my 200th blip? I had planned to mark out 200 in the sand on the beach and blip it while out for my Sunday morning run. However, when I was heading to bed last night, just after midnight, I could see the sky was starry and decided to set the alarm just in case there was a sunrise worth blipping in the morning.

Thankfully, the morning dawned bright with just a few clouds in the sky and a light covering of snow. Fortunately the chilly wind of yesterday was gone and it didn't really feel that cold as I made my way down to the mouth of the river. The first thing I noticed was how much further north behind Arran the sun was going to rise compared with mid-winter when it was over the open sea. As the sunrise gets earlier and moves even further north, there will be few if any further chances to blip one until late Autumn. So its a signature sunrise for my blipday and possibly the last for some time.

Its amazing how quickly time has flown since my first blip back in August and what an amazing journey it has been. There have been many highs and only a few lows. The latter probably due to he fact that, like many, I have got seriously hooked and get really frustrated when I can't get a half decent blip. While a huge bit about blip is the photography, the social interaction with like minded people, whether they be here in Scotland, elsewhere in the UK and Ireland, America, New Zealand or Australia has been a wonderful revelation for someone who shuns other social networking sites. So thanks to you all for your comments and encouragement, which have been greatly appreciated.

Blip is a wonderful community and long may it last!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.