The second half of life..

By twigs

The wonders of facebook . . . . .

Some time ago A and I made contact via facebook. Nothing too unusual in that I know, but today the casual contact became a face to face meeting, the first time in all those years today . . . . . . amazing because I live in New Zealand, A & S live in Atlanta in the US and we'd gone to school together in Melton Mowbray in central England!

A and I went to primary school together 40-something years ago. We played netball together and were a formidable pairing in the shooting circle. Later, we were in the same form class at secondary school and whilst I don't have a great memory for the details of this part of my life A was able to fill in a few details for me and jog my memory about a few people and places :)

As good fortune would have it, A & S are enjoying a few weeks holiday in this part of the world so when A contacted me and said they were going to be in Picton for a few hours there was nothing would have stopped me from taking a drive over there to meet them. Despite the rather miserable weather we were able to enjoy a nice lunch at a local vinyard and I was able to show them just a little of the Top of the South scenery.

I feel I owe facebook an apology. I haven't always been a fan of it but today I experienced a very positive and uplifting day because of it :)

A & S - I hope you enjoy the rest of your trip and yes - I'll figure out the skype thing and we can share a few more stories together after you return home. Thanks for a great day :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.