Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Avington

Almost more gothic than yesterday - one evening I should come here with a full moon and do a 'Castle of Otranto' shot, but this was taken very early this morning. White frost, brilliant sunshine. What a morning!
I love this place. Avington Park is near Winchester and it's 'proper' gates (same design, smarter version) are on the other side of the lane behind the camera. I did take some shots of them, but I just love their decaying alter ego, with the lime avenue stretching into the distance and apparently going nowhere. The trees are even huger than they look here and I think their refusal to remain neat makes them all the more magnificent! Look at the mistletoe, it grows in incredible quantities round here.
Happy blipping

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.