Snips and Snaps

By NLN

Gateway

Gorgeous day out on the moors with glorious light if very cold. Went for a bit of a stroll out over Matchmoor. The moors above Bolton and Horwich are an industrial archaeologist's mecca. The remains of the 19th centuries productive capacity is visible all around. Mine shafts, brick works, quarries a myriad of levelled tramways to take the product down to the towns and a complex footpath system to get the men in, are all now reclaimed by nature. The result is a haven for wildlife, walkers, cyclists and runners of all description. Great to be out there today and again the choice of blippage was abundant. Finally settled on this one which seemed to capture the exubrance of the day.

This week I've forced myself to use a 40mm equivalent prime lens, instead of the zoom lens that came with the camera. At the beginning of the week I hated it and thought I would never get on with it, but decided to stick it out for the week. I'm now beginning to wonder if I'll ever use the zoom lens again. The results are much clearer and its really forcing me to think about where I'm positioning myself to get the shot. At the retirement do on Friday I started off much too far away from the subjects, but seeing the results on the playback moved in closer. Quite pleased with the outcome. Still lots to learn, but enjoying the journey and learning most of all from all your wonderful examples on blip :))

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.