Runhills

By Runhills

Another one bites the dust

The Railway or properly the Railway Hotel where I spent quite a lot of time in my youth closed down quite a while ago but it has recently sold and there are plans for it to be converted into apartments so it will never be a pub again.

The railway was a pub where I drank good beer, met friends, talked, listened to music from a decent jukebox, played pool and darts, got introduced to parched peas, cockles and mushrooms from a chap that came round the local pubs with a wicker basket and a pub where we had the occasional lock in. (I didn't run in those days!)

It is a sign of the times, a lot of the pubs in town have got 'To Let' signs on them, I'm not surprised, successful proper drinking pubs are few and far between round here, the only ones that survive are those that do food and good food at a reasonable price.

Today has been a beautiful day, sunshine and warm, I've done a few odd jobs including failing to fix a radiator (anyone know a plumber?). Then this afternoon I had a nice walk with daughter #2, Mrs RH was out and daughter #1 was working. I had a choice of blips but I chose this one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.