A place in time

By Verbosa

Can I start yet?

The purpose of going down to collect my Mum yesterday was so that she could join us for a family gathering to celebrate Mr A's father's birthday. It's the only time we get together - father-in-law, sister-in-law, brother-in-law, nephew, niece, aunt, uncle, cousin and her girl, plus cousins of father-in-law and late mother-in-law, my Mum, MrA and me. Quite a crowd.

The meal was lovely and it was a chance for my Mum to meet up with Mr A's aunt & uncle that she hasn't seen since his sister's wedding in 1985!

So a good time was had by all.

And this shot was a quick snap across the table after Mum had had her starter served up and it looks like she's thinking "Have they got theirs? Can I start yet?" as she was hungry!

P.S. The ring around her neck is my father's wedding ring. He passed away on Christmas Eve 2010 and she never goes anywhere without it. They were married for 56 years and were what I described as "joined at the hip" as they absolutely adored one another and did everything together.

P.P.S. This is the 85yr old lady who e-mails, orders all her shopping online and Skypes me! What a girl, eh? I'm so proud of her.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.