Life with our boys

By Lifewithourboys

Surprise!

We returned home from our weekend away today to be surprised by a birthday welcome home party that our boys (ages 7 and 10) had planned for their dad's 40th birthday.

While we were gone they apparently watched one too many episodes of Cake Boss and insisted that Grandma take them to buy supplies for each of them to make their own extravagant cakes to surprise their dad with. I think she spent a small fortune on supplies. According to Grandma they had grand dreams of 5ft stacked cakes with various designs and fondant characters on top but they quickly realized how much works goes into a creation like that. This is just one of the two cakes they made. I'm not quite sure what we are going to do with two large cakes (which ended up being a total of 5 boxed cake mixes and 6 containers of frosting!). They were so proud of themselves and it was a great surprise for their dad.

Upon walking in the door their dad was also greeted with many "black" balloons and streamers and other decor. Gee...sure makes me excited to turn the big 40 next. Maybe NOT!

I'm pretty sure with all this cake laying around that the next self portrait you see of me on blipfoto I will be about 3 times the size I am now! haha

Cake for everyone!

ps. I've back blipped the past few days. I'm trying to keep up with blips and comments but still not being very successful. I'm sorry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.