SnappySez

By Sezo

Day 1 - Let music be the food of togging

Firstly - I think its nice to give a bit of background, considering this is my first shot for my blipfoto diary.
Recently inspired by my tarot friend Sara - http://www.blipfoto.com/ElviraTSquirrel/about - who has been tweeting about her fabulous blips. And as she has some great shots and such enthusiasm for blipping, I have become inspired to put my beloved nikon d3000 to work, blip!
I bought my camera last year as a bit of an impulse buy as it was dirt cheap and I fancied I could get 'into' photography. However, I seem to have developed the mindset that you only take photos at 'special occasions' and as those are few and far between, my togging opportunities were getting few and far between.

SO....
This is an attempt to get out of the 'special occasion' mindset, to try and get better at taking photos by thinking about the shot (a bit) and working out what all the stuff means on my camera. I'm great at faffing with the pre-set modes and taking pictures I like, but I would like to, one day, be able to pick the aperture I want and why I want it etc. Also, it will make me get into the habit of processing and doing things with my photos, rather than just leaving them on my SD card!

This photo is of my flute, which I too should be practising every day lol. So, in picking up my camera and picking up my flute I have killed two birds with one stone! But this flute to me symbolises how I know that daily practice creates progress, that even when you have a rubbish day that your routine of doing it can completely reset your mindset and make a bad day productive. Also, I like to think that one day all that practice will make 'art', or at least my creative version of art.

I also waffle an awful lot! Done with my d3000, with 55-200mm lens, not my favourite as I am a 'zoom with your feet' kinda girl but I did enjoy using this lens to a nice warm effect :) Day 1 and I'm happy :D

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.