One daze at a time...

By Raheny_Eye

Respite from the urban jungle

I took a quick shot of Dorothy taking a well earned break in her busy schedule.

I'm glad that today I had a chance to have a little chat with her.
First it allowed me to find out that her name is Dorothy. I could not have made up a better suited name for her.

She lives in Blackrock and walks to Dun Laoghaire each and everyday via Seapoint and Salthill (we are talking a 6 to 8 km round trip here, depending on where she lives in An Charraigh Dubh). She very much enjoys taking the scenic waterfront route.
Most days she buys fresh fish in the Ice Box on the West Pier.
She is a great walker, considering that she has a bad back and walks at a very tilted angled.
Her funky runners cover a lot of ground.
She used to take a break in the ferry terminal, because it was clean, heated, quiet and with spotless toilets. But it is closed until the seasonal return of the Holyhead route. So she now comes to the Dun Laoghaire city hall on Marine Road for her little break.

I always enjoy spotting her hurried, bent, woolly-capped, entrenchcoated, Kick-Adidassed figure around Dun Laoghaire.

I love Dun Laoghaire.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.