Rags of light

By CarolG1

Fly like an eagle

I will never make my name as a wildlife photographer, but this was my best attempt to capture an eagle in flight. One of the joys of Kerala was the fantastic variety of birdlife I saw and heard. In the backwaters I saw egrets, cormorants, kites and shrikes. There were kingfishers too though I didn't spot any.

In Varkala the eagles were everywhere. I think they are brown eagles, though more expert twitchers might correct me. They swooped from the palm trees and over the sea, and took a keen interest in the fishing boats when they put their nets out.

One of my most perfect moments was sitting on the verandah of our little bungalow one morning, writing my diary. I looked up into a clear blue sky to see the eagles swooping in front of a still visible moon. Does life get much better?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.