To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Princess Palace

Nature or nurture? This morning my daughter built a castle out of blocks and put her Polly Pocket princesses in it. Neither my husband nor I have ever encouraged anything "princess-y," but, alas, my daughter has become enchanted with the whole Disney Princess brand. Do I take some consolation that her favorite princess is Ariel--the one with a fish tail, the one who isn't your classic blonde/blue Barbie look alike? What is it about little girls that make them love all things pink and princess?

This is one of many examples of "what I swore I'd never do as a parent." I swore I'd never co-sleep. I swore I'd never cook separate meals for children and adults. I swore I wouldn't succumb to buying super-girly, plastic licensed toys. At least I've made it three years without giving my daughter any soda pop.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.