To See New Englandly

By distractedhausfrau

Is there a wrong kind of tomato?

I tried planting tomatoes for the first time this year. I bought the last six-pack of seedlings at the nursery, planted them and waited much of the summer for them to bear fruit. Turns out they're cherry tomatoes.

At first I was disappointed. I thought to myself, "I've grown the wrong kind of tomato!" I had mouth-watering visions of using big, juicy beefsteak tomatoes on our burgers, in our Caprese salads, sliced and served only with salt and pepper.

In the end, the whole family has thoroughly enjoyed these sweet, concentrated little bites of summer--including the dogs, who eat them right off the vine when they think we're not looking!

(Here's one of my favorite recipes with cherry tomatoes that I've tried this summer.)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.