AJ's Snaptorium

By AJTaylor

Brocken Spectre??

A Brocken Spectre is something normally associated with High Mountains or Aircraft when the shadows are projected on to a layer of cloud below the viewer and a halo radiates from the central viewing point.
I have seen this myself both on the Hills and when on aircraft, I have photographed it a couple of time and posted on the t'interweb but can't seem to find the images to link.

Anyhoo! I reckon this is a similar effect 'cept it is my shadow cast onto the sea below the boat and the light seems to radiate out from my head. I cant seem to find any reference to water based Brocken Spectres but after all, what is water but very thick air.

PS,
There was a bird (Some kind of Petrel maybe) today that got within blipage distance but I decided to go with this because I liked it. Click the bird large and see what you think?

PPS,
I have posted this in Nature & wildlife and in LandSeascape but if anyone objects please feel free to remove it

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.