My Life In Pictures..

By SheWhoGlitters

William Dick..

This charming fellow is William Dick. He is the founder of the Royal (Dick) School of Veterinary Studies, in Edinburgh, where I am currently studying Veterinary Medicine.

He now sits in the foyer of the New Vet School, recently built to improve the studies of current and future students. I like to think he watches over us all.

The reason why he's starring in my blip today is because this day, the 24th February, two years ago was the day of my Interview here at the Dick Vet. Mine was the last interview of the day, and I sat in the waiting room, on my own, terrified and waiting.

Only I wasn't on my own. William was there to keep me company. That waiting room was his temporary home before the New Building was built. I looked at him, and he looked at me, and I silently asked him for some help in my interview.

He must have heard me, as here I am, two years later, a second year Vet Student.

I saw a couple of terrified looking girls in suits today scurrying around the foyer, waiting for their interviews. I hope they gleaned the same amount of comfort and luck from William today, as I did when I was in their shoes exactly two years ago.

Here's to you, Will..

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.