a little bit of rhubarb

By Puggle

Nerdfest

Welcome to Saturday night Nerdfest.

It is a time-honoured tradition, whereby nerds, little and large, gather to watch BBC sci fi programmes.

You may see them moving through the streets of your city, in little huddles, clad in daggy t shirts, nervous about being seen in the light. Once safely installed in someone's lounge room, they become vibrant and uninhibited, and can debate knowledgably as to the virtues of Doctor Who versus Torchwood. They can recite the entire script of Galaxy Quest standing on their head. The purists will take umbrage at the claims of the younger fry who state that the remake of Terry Nation's Survivors is better than the original.

And then there are the Blakes 7 addicts, who are an entire sub-niche of their own.

As I get older, I embrace my nerdiness, but I am not a sci fi purist, oh no. I welcome all nerdy creeds. And those entering my domain need to be open-minded enough to move outside the sci-fi sphere and embrace other BBC gems, such as Ashes to Ashes. My house is more of a BBC temple than a sci fi temple. In fact, the only dvds that are forbidden in my house is Star Trek and all its insidious offspring.

Tonight, we may even push the envelope and get a chinese takeaway. Hark! Did I hear a skitter of feet at the front door? I must go.

Oh, and don't know what my photo is of? Then you are not a nerd. :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.