Dublin Shooter

By dublinshooter

Sunbeam

If only the National Concert Hall allowed the taking of photographs, I might have managed a more appropriate image to sum up the day, which finished there for the Friday concert given by the National Symphony Orchestra of Ireland. The concerto item was eminently forgettable (Delius's dreary Double Concerto for Violin and Cello, which I hope never to hear again), but the opening and closing works were terrific (Grieg's Norwegian Dances to begin and Prokofiev's 3rd Symphony ('The Fiery Angel') to finish). The Prokofiev which superb, with the orchestra in top form, producing a world-class performance, all guided by the wonderful hands of Alan Buribayev. An astonishing experience! Even without a photo to remind me, I'll never forget this.

The rest of the day pales into insignificance compared with the NCH experience. I spent a while preparing notes for my 30-minute presentation at tomorrow's Music Group session, listened the some music, fed myself, and fitted in a not-so-much-to-be-proud-of walk. The walk was brought on by the realisation that the sun was shining, as this sunbeam told me as it broke through gaps in the venetian blinds and played with the side of the armchair.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.