Elroyofderovers

By Elroyofderovers

Live for Today

So I was straight out after work again tonight (3 nights in a row). This time I was away to the hospital to visit a friend. He had a turn for the worst not long before Christmas, right out of the blue. Ironically he went really down hill the day I was due to go and visit him previously. He was really ill and in a coma etc with a pretty bleak prognosis.

As recently as last month he could only move his right thumb. I was told he had made good improvement but was pretty worried what I was going to see when I went to visit him. I was pretty shocked when I walked in. He was sat in the TV room watching TV, looking a lot older than I remembered him. However, by the time I left (3 hours later) I was feeling a lot happier, less concerned and pretty relieved if I am honest. We had a good blether and a laugh. I was amazed at the progress he had made in such a short time. He is by no means back to his old self, certainly not physically, having to rely on a wheelchair and having to work hard with his speech. But he was certainly still his cheeky self with a fast turn of wit.

Really makes you think and be thankful for the good fortune most of us have. Don't waste it.

P.S. the photo is related because sadly there are things that a Band-Aid can't fix and when I came home the Lad was repairing his legs after a small biking accident.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.