Seeing as I am

By seeingasiam

Poor Archie!

Earlier Bob strode past clutching the clippers in one hand and the dog under his arm. His determined expression said one thing...time for Archie's haircut.

My husband is not an ungenerous man but he deeply resents the £30 it costs to have Archie trimmed. So he takes it upon himself to perform the task every few weeks.

This time it has been longer than a few weeks due to inclement weather. It seemed cruel to remove Archie's insulation when the temperature gauge read fifteen below zero. But Archie was beginning to resemble an Ewok, and smell like a compost heap so the evil deed could be put off no more.

It went about as well as could be expected. There was tussling, whinging and much bribing to crawl out of hiding in the shrubbery, but eventually I persuaded Bob to come out and get down to task in hand ;-)

At one point Archie wrenched free and dived back into the house, hotly pursued by Bob who was swearing loudly. We cornered the poor dog in the dining room and schlepped him back outside.

He now looks very smart. A teeny bit lopsided maybe, but we'll gloss over that. The deed is done for another few weeks. Bob is looking very self-satisfied at the thought of £30 well-saved :-)

Edit: This will be my last blip. I've enjoyed being part of this vibrant community and I've discovered I like keeping a photo journal of my days but for personal reasons I'm now moving my journal to a private setting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.