Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Excitement at the singles bar

It is cold and windy today, which seems to be perfect robin weather. Three of them showed up at the watering hole today, and I was lucky enough to snap this shot while two were in the frame. And, yes, this was taken with my trusty Nikon d90 with the big lens. I did try to get some shots with the new Canon Powershot, including this robin close up but most of the shots were crappy. Seems that the Powershot is very slow to focus when you are at maximum zoom. And, when I say very slow, I mean nearly impossible. Very frustrating. It also fires much slower than my d90.

By the way, these are American Robin (turdus migratorius) and they are year-round residents here except in hard winters when they may move further south. The males can be differentiated from the females by their brighter chest colors, and darker head. This photo shows a male flying in to hit on the chick at the bar.

I think there is a very good chance I will return the Canon. Not because it's a Canon, mind you, but more because I am an SLR girl. I find the compact difficult to use, way more difficult than my dslrs. I am certain I would be having the same problem if I'd gotten the Nikon compact. I would probably be much happier if I photographed things that stayed still - but usually that isn't the case. But, if I DO decide to return the camera (yay for B & H with their 30-day return policy) I will probably look at using the credit towards a longer lens. I'm thinking 400mm... This camera things never ends, does it? Anyway, I'll give it a few more days before making a decision. If anyone has any words of wisdom re the powershot sx40, I'm all ears.

I am still feeling snarky today, stuffy head and just feeling blah. I think I am going to actually lay down for awhile and see if I can take a nap. Willie is flying back from Alabama today, can't wait for him to get home - I've missed him!

Happy Saturday, Blippers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.