Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

...Holy crap, Batman!

This caption will only make sense to those of us old enough to remember the old Batman & Robin series --- or you youngsters who are into retro tv.

First of all, I took this with my new Canon compact camera. Which I spent the first few hours hating. Having never used a compact, or a Canon, the whole thing felt like Baghdad to me - tricky, foreign and dangerous. I was cursing as I made my way through the 200-page online manual, muttering imprecations under my breath and sometimes just swearing out loud. But, after many blurry shots and a lot of creative language, here we are. A pair of finches, slightly grainy. If you look carefully, you will see the look of bewilderment on the male finch's face as his lady-friend nearly takes his head off. If you're interested, here is a macro shot I took with the Canon

Woke up with a sore throat and stuffy head, and to a dusting of snow, so decided not to head out to the refuge trails today. Good day to stay in with a pot of tea. Lots of birds today, including a whole group of big-boy turkeys who were looking rather silly with their bald heads and big gangly chest feathers. No lady turkeys in sight today... The blue jays were in full form and were even joined briefly by a grackle and the mocker - until the lady RBW showed up and spooked the whole group.

Sylvia (the squirrel) made several sorties to the homemade suet this morning, oblivious to the craziness happening overhead. It's great to be a rodent.

It's Friday, people - time for a glass of something adult in nature. I'm thinking a nice savignon blanc... Cheers!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.