Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

The Burning Season

Following yesterday's mooch around the south side of the moor, I headed over to the north side in search of curlews. On the way across I heard the first skylarks of the year, although a sighting proved elusive. This time last year we had snow buntings, but I don't think they've returned this year.

About half way across I heard the first curlew, and then when I reached the moor edge at these summer cabins I was able to look down into the pasture and saw my first of the year, probing the turf with its long beak. A small number of oystercatchers also summer here, but there was no sign or sound of them yet. On the way back over the first meadow pipits were peeping away, so most of the summer birds have returned.

It seems it was also favourable conditions for heather burning, and there were a number of fires lit throughout the day on Bingley Moor. We can see these from home, and as dusk settled the flames were readily visble from a couple of miles distant. On this image from my walk earlier, you can see one of the plumes rising on the moor behind the cabin.

summer cabin
survived
the winter
now
the moors are burning


My year ago blip was taken yards away from yesterday's image, and clearly I was pre-occupied with the same things.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.