Buddy Yamaha

By richie_rollover

Call Me Up - Gang of Four

Not the most inspired photo for the first of the random selection tunes I'm afraid. The idea was hindered by waking up this morning (at 3am to be precise) feeling dreadful, sore throat, streaming nose, headache, shakiness and general ache right through my body. I'm hoping it's just man-flu rather than the more serious version but time will tell.

Anyway by blip has obviously been limited by the fact that I only made it back out of bed five minutes ago and thought I'd better get something so as not to fall at the first hurdle.

If I'd made it into work today I had intended to get one of the newspaper vendors on Princess Street for Come rain or Shine by BB King with Eric Clapton. Or perhaps my bus into town for Hey! you going my way by Jim White.

As it stands a shot of my somewhat worse for wear mobile phone for the Gang of Four song was all I felt up to.

Anyway Gang of Four were formed at Leeds Uni in 1977 and were one of the best known groups of the post-punk scene (which pretty much encompassed any group post 78 with a punk ethos who could play more than 3 chords). In the last couple of years they have been cited as a major influence on many of the recent wave of post-punk themed spiky guitar based pop bands like Franz Ferdinand, Bloc Party, the Futureheads and the Kaiser Chiefs.

The wave of interest in that style of music saw them re-form recently.

Anyway, I'm away back to bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.