Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... Finches gone wild!

A small spat broke out amongst the house finch-gang this morning and I was lucky enough to have my camera firing at the time. You'd think that with all the seeds I put out, no one would feel the need to bicker like this, but you know how irritable those finches can get... The Latin name for this bird is Carpodacus Mexicanus and they are common throughout the US.

I am still working on capturing birds in flight, so here are a couple of other shots if you're interested...

tufted titmouse coming in for a landing
blue day, doing hawk imitation

And here is one of the adorable and always polite little American Goldfinches

Extreme Seymour came by for a visit and I've posted pictures of him on Flickr doing push-ups and with his hands in the buffet, trying to look innocent

Thank you all very much for the comments yesterday. The death of this young man has bothered me deeply, maybe in part because I worry about our nephew being over in Afghanistan. But, in equal part, it is the utter sadness of someone this young losing their life. I can't help thinking about how his family must feel. So, thank you for caring.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.