Garry Ure

By garryure

Edinburgh Police Box #1

You'll note from the #1 suffix to the title that this image is intended to be part of a series.

This is something that I've been considering for a while and sort of started a little over a week ago (I will be reshooting that particular box). I also take inspiration from a recent image by Blipper Way of Life who has decided to document the vending machines in his local area of Japan. He too has been influenced by the work of Bernd and Hilla Becher who have undertaken a number of projects that document industrial architecture.

The old police call boxes have always intrigued me and even when they have been repurposed they are instantly recognisable. I hope that this project acts as an interesting visual catalogue of these boxes and to a certain degree their varied surroundings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.