LocalBoy & His Fotographs

By stevenbirrell

The Kind Words Of A Stranger

I had 45 minutes spare before I had to pick someone up tonight. So parked up in town and went for a walk around the Heritage Quarter (even if I have never actually called it that in conversation, or know anyone who lives in Dunfermline who has!).

Took a few shots of Abbott House, Dunfermline Abbey and the Palace ruins. As I was lining up the tripod a man walked past, then stopped, hesitated a minute and then walked back. He asked what I was doing and what possible photo I could take in the dark. I showed him some of the shots that I had taken. He told me really liked them, couldnt believe what he was seeing or how amazing the sky looked, thanked me for my time and walked off. It took me a little while to realise that I had a big smile on my face and that I hadn't actually smiled much today.

This noisy wee blip is of Dunfermline Abbey. Indulge me with the noise, I just fancied cranking it up a bit. The ruins of Dunfermline Palace, the residence of past Scottish monarchs are just behind where this blip was taken. It is also close to where one of my favourite photos of my dad was taken, at my sister in law's wedding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.