wooly wonders

By biblios

#growingupIread

I have been following the @worldbookday trend #growinguipiread all day and have had so much fun. I put in my input early as I loved The Dark is rising by Susan Cooper, as I couldn't wait to get to 11 and find out if I was magical! Long before Harry Potter got a letter Will Stanton was getting 'signs' for his.
Since then I have seen so many I loved mentioned! So todays Blip is four that are in my library that cover my childhood reading, First Betsy Byers and the fab eighteenth emergency, which helped me deal with bullies and cope when I had changed schools! Biggles, any version would do as I read them all, great galloping adventure where they all went home safe and had 'a nice cup of tea' cheers! Arthur C Clarke, who opened my mind to worlds beyond my own but only just a step or two, and I dreamed of being on the space elevator! and Lastly my love of crime, Good old Agatha Christie, too young to understand she is the queen of crime I loved it, never had so much fun as trying to guess who. Sadly I have read them all and most like her even now :-( but the memory of reading, safe and hidden. Lost in books, is one of joy and excitment.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.