The best laid plans

So I had all these ideas that I would do something especially creative today, the extra day in the leap year. Maybe a trip out somewhere, possibly even out of town. Only it didn't happen. We did go to buy a second hand mirror that should nicely complete the living room, once it's been touched up a bit where the paint has flaked away. And we bought some paint for the bathroom, and some shelf-lining paper (aka suitably coloured gift wrap) to go on the bookcase shelves, which I cut to size and stuck into place. So a small sense of achievement, but nothing really creative. And now it's the evening and wondering what to blip I returned to the project that continues to nag away at me but never seems to get properly started - my Paris project. Presumably it's going to be a book of some sort. Given the way things are, increasingly likely it will be an electronic one. Or should I stick to my idea, and produce a physical thing. I recognise my usual problem - the difficulty of making a selection, but just like writing a story, or a novel, I really need to make a start and then I can always move things around, shift things in and out, replace things that don't look right. Always easier when there is something there to edit. And I also want to know whether to include some sort of maps, showing my wanderings across the city during the fortnight. Mostly in the central 8 arrondissements, but with some forays further out and even into the banlieues. Should the maps be an essential part of the whole, or merely incidental, perhaps a backdrop to the images, a little like the effect here, with the central map showing my exploring on different days surrounded by a quick selection of images. And should there be significant amounts of text too? More than merely captions. Perhaps the way to do that would be an introductory essay before the pictures, or would it be better to integrate text and pictures? So many things to think about. But I need to start. It will be two years this April since I was there. That's more than enough time for anyone to mull over an idea before bringing it to fruition. Although perhaps that runs in the family. My father, now retired, has been meaning to write up something about the minutes of a local agricultural improvement society for years, and, at least as of a couple of months ago, he still hasn't done it. Perhaps writing this here will help to spur me on and I can inspire him by example.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.