One of five a day

By KiloRomeo

Turing Lecture 2012

Alan Turing - computer pioneer and explorer of the human mind. Famously, the World War II code breaker responsible for deciphering the Enigma machine.

This year is the centenary of Alan Turing's birth. And as it has been done since 1999, a lecture is delivered every year, in honour of his contribution to field of Computing. This year the The Turing Lecture is being given by Ray Dolan, Mary Kinross Professor of Neuropsychiatry, and Director of the Wellcome Trust Centre for Neuroimaging, at University College London. The lecture is entitled: From cryptanalysis to cognitive neuroscience - a hidden legacy of Alan Turing. I went to attend the event, this evening.

If you wish to you can watch the webcast of the lecture, here

Oh well, this here is James Turing, great nephew of Alan Turing, a fine young man and a sport to pose for my iPhone blip. He is an Engineering Sudent at University of Edinburgh, and briefly spoke to introduce The Turing Trust which he set up himself to help provide education and computer facilities in Ghana.

James signed his name for me too.

I felt, I could support the charity, by featuring him on today's blip.

I have had a dismal spell of commenting and responding. I do still love you all :)

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.