a town called E.

By Eej

And love ...

... can conquer anyone.
We've got to let love rule.



March 1st is self-injury awareness day.

Have you ever felt so miserable, desperate, alone and unloved that you wish you didn't exist? Have you ever agonised so much that you wrapped your arms around you and dug your nails into your arms until the pain you felt inside was replaced by the pain of the bloody marks you were leaving in your arms?

I have.

Fortunately I knew where to go. I had friends, family. I had a therapist who saw right through me and a careful, considerate psychiatrist. I had more strength than I knew I had because of all of them. And then I found a Beloved who listened and supported and all of that together saved me.

5 Years down the line I still struggle now and then with my self-image, self-worth and assertiveness. When I think of how far I have come though, I feel so proud.

So many people are struggling alone, the stigma of mental health issues preventing them from speaking up - and it doesn't have to be that way.
There is help.
There is hope.



To Write Love on Her Arms is a non-profit movement dedicated to presenting hope and finding help for people struggling with depression,
addiction, self-injury and suicide. TWLOHA exists to encourage, inform, inspire and also to invest directly into treatment and recovery. More info here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.