Folkie Booknerd

By Folkiebooknerd

OMD? OMG!

I was lucky enough to attend a private viewing of a fantastic new exhibition at the Museum of Liverpool this evening - I know, get me!

'Liverpool Doors' was put together by acclaimed Mersey Poet, presenter of BBC Radio 4's 'Poetry Please', former member of 'Lily the Pink' hitmakers The Scaffold and Poetry Society President (phew!) Roger McGough. It includes 25 significant Liverpool doors - donated by public appeal - and explores the history and character of Liverpool through stories and memories. The doors include extracts from McGough's poems - as you can see here.

I originally intended to post a picture of the great poet himself but in the end he was, ahem, 'blipped at the post' by this shot of Andy McCluskey of Orchestral Manoeuvres In The Dark whom I spotted through this pair of doors from the Salvation Army's Strawberry Field Children's Home (the place that inspired John Lennon to write that song...!)

Apologies for the poor quality of the photo but the light was awful and I didn't dare use a flash for fear of being ejected!

Here's a short poem of McGough's...

Survivor

Everyday,
I think about dying.
About disease, starvation,
violence, terrorism, war,
the end of the world.

It helps
keep my mind off things.


Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.