Strict Tempo

I went to see the great songwriter and guitarist Richard Thompson tonight.

I've been a fan for 30 years or so (and I'm still only 25...!) and have seen him play on several occasions but never blipped him before so I was looking forward not only to the music but also to a few photo opportunities.

However, the first appearance of my camera drew the attentions of a burly security man and I was told in no uncertain terms to cease and desist! I noticed that he was keeping a beady eye on me throughout the rest of the show so I decided I'd better toe the line if I didn't want to be thrown out...

My salvation arrived in the shape of the same 'street drummer' I blipped on 5th February who was providing after-show entertainment for gig-goers exiting the Philharmonic Hall and performing a duet of sorts with the great Mr Thompson, as you see here!

As for the show itself... A lot of the material was drawn from RT's new album 'Electric' and sounded really good with his latest trio format but the highlights for me were, of course, a selection of old favourites including:

Easy There, Steady Now
For Shame of Doing Wrong
Wall of Death
Tear Stained Letter
Did She Jump or Was She Pushed?

and a brace of brilliantly performed acoustic numbers:

Beeswing
Al Bowlly's in Heaven

Sadly there was no space in the set for 1952 Vincent Black Lightning or Thompson's classic cover of Britney Spears' Oops!... I Did It Again...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.