El Camino

By AndrewForbes

Jamón

I can't believe it's taken me over 3 months to get round to posting something about jamón ibérico!

I have to say that since moving to Spain I have become a fan of cured ham - but the good stuff :-)

I just discovered this new store; dedicated to organic, pure breed Ibérico ham; organic cheeses, olive oils and wines. Great to see the enthusiasm the owner had - especially on these tough times when artisan food is often ignored due to price. I spent an hour tasting ham, cheese, and wine so I'll blog about him at some point to help promote his store.

The ham is so tasty - probably a unsavoury image for vegetarians, but it is important to note that animals reared to high organic, artisan standards like these have been, typically have had a high quality of life.

These hams, legs and shoulders, are from acorn fed pigs from one of the finest estates in Spain - they have the distinctive dark colour - pata negra - that defines the better quality hams.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.