Don't look!

Heads Down. Don't look. It's her with the camera again.

These ewes are waiting patiently in the barn to lamb.

It's been a difficult week.
First having to visit a friend in hospital with multiple injuries, resulting from a hit and run incident, whilst she was carriage driving with a pair of ponies, and then I've also attended two funerals.

Today was the funeral of a family friend. John had led a full and active life for 80 years and although his body was failing, his mind was sharp until the very end. He died peacefully at home with his family at his side.

Earlier in the week the funeral was for one of the lads from 'The Local', whose life was tragically cut short by a horrendous building site accident. A life snuffed out in an instant with no time for contemplation or preparation.

The funeral services too, were so different. Today we walked into the parish church to sombre organ music. For the other service we walked into the crematorium to the sound of 'Mustang Sally.'
What was evident though, was that both had a bloody good send off, surrounded by family and friends who gathered together to pay their respects.
At both wakes food was eaten, booze consumed, stories told and memories shared. That is the stuff of life - and death.

I rather like these words by Rabindranath Tagore the Bengali Poet and Philosopher (1861-1941)
At every tuning of my life I came across good friends, friends who stood by me even when the time raced me by. Farewell! Farewell my friends, I smile and bid you goodbye. No, shed no tears for I need them not. All I need is your smile. If you feel sad do think of me, for that's what I'd like.
When you live in the hearts of those you love, remember then you never die.



P.S. The friend in hospital is making progress but it will be a long haul.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.