Quite possibly

my best one yet.

Got the telescope out early - just as the light was fading which made it so much easier to set up and align. So now I know.

Still having some issues with the super magnifying eyepiece. This is my 2x barlow - with it, just managing to get the half moon into the full frame.

I am really, really pleased with this!

Hada great viewing night as well. Watched Jupiter as one of it's moons transitted across it, seeing the shadow cast by the moon on Jupiter's surface. Also managed to see 3 of Jupiter's other moons as well...only as little dots, but lovely to see the planet, with it's coloured bands, with the moons dotted off to the left and right of it.

Seen Venus...very bright in the early evening sky at the moment.

Seen Mars, rising in the East, wonderful and red.

Managed to get a decent viewing of M42 (Orion Nebula) and M45 (Pleiades) before the moon and our street lighting made viewing them impossible.

Eventually came in when I took this shot - I saw it and I knew I was done for this evening.

In other news, I received a phone call from my Doctor today. Unfortunately I missed the call, but she did leave a message, thanked me for sending updated pain diary and clearly said that we needed to do something about it all. I rang back, left a message, and she rang back and I missed the call as I put my phone in my bag just as I was stood talking to Fisherking in the carpark at work. She's not in till Tuesday, so I will speak to her then and hopefully we can start to resolve this.

Although I feel lousy, I feel a litte better psychologically because I have had that phonecall. I also feel better that I spoke to my Dad last night and have had some reassurance from him.

Watched a colleague lock another colleague in a cupboard today. I think that I suggested that he did it.... Was quite entertaining (and he was released shortly afterwards!). Just glad the key worked. Could have been a difficult one to explain.

The best bit of the day though, even better than catching this moon shot, was an hour with Michelle and baby Millie, with Joanne and Lisa, having a good old girlie chat. I got there just before Michelle, and Millie needing feeding, so I got to do it - I was so excited! Millie is the first baby I have fed since James. I am just utterly absorbed by her when I see her. Ridiculous really, but I guess it's because she is my friend's daughter and I am just so pleased for her. It's not broodiness I can assure you!

So, that's me.

By the way, the crater that is at the bottom, roughly centre - looks like it has a spot in the middle of it ....that's 56 km across apparently. Just astounding.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.