Terminal 2

Our great leader isn't the only leap baby. My cousin in the US celebrates here eighteenth birthday today, so I sent her a card from my iPhone (based on this blip) and Skyped her today with in-person birthday greetings.

She was in such demand that she had to cut two calls short, but she did manage to ask me during the first of these to check out a hotel at Dublin Airport which she's thinking of staying in on the last night of a stay she'll be having here in April. She stayed there the last time she was over, and I was prepared for things to have changed. They had. Not only is it operating under a totally different name these days, but it's also undergone a major refurb. I made a few enquiries, checked out the public areas, grabbed a shandy in the bar and left feeling just fine about giving here the go-ahead to stay there.

From the hotel I went on an extended stroll around the airport complex, ending up at that great white elephant, Terminal 2. The stupidity of the situation with this terminal was neatly summed up by the arrivals board, which was displaying a long list of flights for the period from 2:00 to 8:00, none of which was scheduled to arrive at Terminal 2. The Dublin Airport Authority poured a ridiculously large sum of money in to this place, and now it isn't even being used!

Anyway, this is a view through the glass-enclosed staircase which connects the skyway at Arrivals level to the street below. I'm a sucker for reflections at the best of times, and this lot were impossible to resist.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.