Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

... I've only got eyes for you

Some of us/you will remember this song. One of my favorite "oldies" and this close up of our friend's pit bull reminded me of the song. This is Brandy (another song, come to think of it!) the fear-inspiring pit bull. In actual fact, she's about the sweetest dog you'd even want to meet, worships her dad, is terrified of air compressors, and is eager to please. Her dad was over helping my hubs work on the race car today so I got to take a bunch of shots of Brandy in the yard - fun! I've put the other favorite shots of Brandy here in her own Flickr album if you'd care to have a look.

I started my morning by taking Big Daddy to Wallkill River NWR for a nice walk on their Duck trail. It was misty and otherwordly looking when I first got there. The trail meandered off through the woods and wetlands for several miles. It was a good outing for BD and I. The neck strap was GREAT and I really didn't feel like I was toting around 4 1/2 pounds of camera and lens at all.

On the trail, I could hear birds everywhere, but without the ability to hear in stereo, I am unable to isolate sound location, so I had to just enjoy the sound and not worry about trying to spot the source. Still, several cardinals, sparrows, blue jays and red-winged blackbirds flew in front of me, so it was not a totally bird-less walk. And, I startled two Canada Geese who are probably getting ready to nest. This one gave me a sound scolding and stuck his tongue out at me before flying off into the refuge. The birds here aren't very people-friendly.

It was 55 F today - unthinkable for the middle of winter in northwestern New Jersey! Tomorrow is supposed to be nearly that warm, so I plan to get out and do some more hiking with Big Daddy.

Thanks for the hearts, stars and comments on my inquisitive little mocker yesterday! Happy Saturday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.